On this wonderful piece of land, the Tighnabruaich Golf Club had a course from 1894 to 1901. The Kyles of Bute Golf Club began in 1906. The course was designed by David Adams who also designed Tobermory and other golf courses.
At the official opening in 1907, the club recorded their first victory over Rothesay Golf Club. This match is still played annually.
Opening day photograph 1907
Around this time a Kyles of Bute golf ball was manufactured – locals tell you there are still some in the rough!
There have been four sites for the clubhouse but the most stunning view was from close to the existing 9th tee. Only the remains of the flagpole can still be seen.
Through the two world wars the course was open to the armed forces, so after 1945 the course had to be reinstated by the locals. The club purchased the land from the Forestry Commission in 1985 and the following year Kyles joined the Firth of Clyde Association becoming eligible to play in the oldest golf team match on the planet!